Saylor Elected House Majority Whip

Just one week after being re-elected to serve the people of the 94th Legislative District, Rep. Stanley Saylor (R-York) has been elected by his House Republican peers to serve as majority whip in the 2011-12 legislative session. 

“I am truly grateful to the people of York County for giving me the opportunity to continue representing them,” Saylor said.  “I am equally grateful to my colleagues for entrusting me with this responsibility.”  

As majority whip, Saylor will be responsible for encouraging attendance by House members, keeping the members informed of upcoming legislative debates and helping maintain voting majorities on the floor of the House. 

“The new Republican majority has a great deal of work ahead of it when the new session beings in January,” Saylor added.  “From job creation to cutting spending, fixing the state pension system and reforming the way state government operates, the people of Pennsylvania expect us to deliver.  I look forward to working with my colleagues to restore faith in state government and get Pennsylvania working again.” 

House Republicans also elected Rep. Sam Smith (R-Jefferson/Indiana/Armstrong) as House speaker, Rep. Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny) as majority leader, Rep. William Adolph (R-Delaware) as Appropriations Committee chairman, Rep. Sandra Major (R-Susquehanna/Wayne/Wyoming) as caucus chairman, Rep. Dave Reed (R-Indiana) as Republican Policy Committee chairman, Rep. Dick Stevenson (R-Butler/Mercer) as caucus administrator, and Rep. Mike Vereb (R-Montgomery) as caucus secretary. 

Rep. Stanley Saylor
94th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

(717) 244-9232
(717) 783-6426
Contact:  Sean Yeakle
(717) 787-3406

Share |