Saylor Elected Chairman of House Appropriations Committee
HARRISBURG – Rep. Stan Saylor (R-York) today was elected by his colleagues in the House Republican Caucus to serve as the new chairman of the Appropriations Committee and as a member of the Republican leadership team. The position had been held by Rep. Bill Adolph (R-Delaware) since 2010. Adolph did not seek re-election and is retiring at the end of this legislative session.

As the Appropriations chairman, Saylor will serve the House Republican Caucus as a primary budget negotiator and help oversee the state’s fiscal policies.

“I am honored my colleagues have put their trust in me to serve in this crucial role as we continue to fight for sound fiscal policies based on actual revenues and prudent spending,” Saylor said. “We must ensure our children have safe and effective schools and budget policies that allow Pennsylvania businesses to continue to grow and create jobs.”

Elected to the House in 1993, Saylor has previously served on the House leadership team as the Republican Policy Committee chairman from 2008 to 2010, and as the Majority Whip from 2010 to 2014. He served as the chair of the House Education Committee from 2014 to present after long-time Education chairman Paul Clymer retired in 2014.

“Our Appropriations Committee will focus its efforts on effectiveness of state programs and whether they match their intent and whether they have run their course,” Saylor said. “Pennsylvanians can be assured, we will not be a status quo committee and are committed to enacting a responsible budget which respects our taxpayers.”

The House Majority leadership team now is comprised of Speaker Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny), Majority Leader Dave Reed (R-Indiana), Majority Whip Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster), Majority Caucus Chair Marcy Toepel (R-Montgomery), Majority Caucus Secretary Donna Oberlander (R-Armstrong/Clarion/Forest), Majority Caucus Administrator Kurt Masser (R-Columbia/Montour/Northumberland), and Majority Policy Committee Chair Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin).

Representative Stan Saylor
94th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Charles Lardner
717.260.6443 /
Share |